An Obsession that Calms

 

Obsession. That’s a very strong word. It reminds me of something that plays in your mind like the static noise. Always there, like a presence. Making itself known at a moment’s notice when your mind is set free of the barrage of thoughts. I have never been one to have a serious obsession but there is one song that I turn to, every time I have a bad day. Dream Theater’s Undecided. In the beautifully loud tune, I drown my anger, sadness, pain, anguish. The perfectly composed drums speak to me, calm my mind and offer a perfect distraction to the troubles plaguing me. The music hits a crescendo and a wave of euphoria flows through me, like the high after a strong drug. Only this one, brings respite. Always.

One thought on “An Obsession that Calms

Leave a Reply

