Stupid Heart

beach september

The damp sand
makes for warm company
as my thoughts defeat
coherence and sense

Above me,
the day draws to a close…
Night crawls in,
languidly caressing the twilight
turning the sky to a canvas of
pink, mauve and gold

With cracked lungs
I pull in the salty air
With eager lips
I snatch mouthfuls of your name
whispered on the wind

A tear escapes
as my eyes remember
the light from your smile…
And something inside me
shifts ever so slightly
as tectonic plates rattle
in place of that stupid heart of mine

2 thoughts on “Stupid Heart

Leave a Reply

